top of page
  • Writer's pictureKizzy Bedeau

Rethinking Body Image: Embrace Your Body as It Is

5 Tips to Loving Your God-Given Body


Since as far back as memory serves, my relationship with my little stomach bulge has been a rollercoaster. Some days, we're on speaking terms, but most days, I find myself at odds with it.


Each morning, I stand in front of the mirror, engaged in a meticulous assessment of my own reflection, hoping to unearth that perfect outfit to conceal the bulge. When clothing doesn't quite do the trick, I shift my focus to convincing myself that a healthier diet and a more rigorous exercise routine will do the job.


I've dabbled in various diets, committed to strenuous exercise routines, and even resorted to shapewear, all in the fervent pursuit of a solution. Yet, there it remains - an unwavering reminder of my perceived shortcoming, steadfastly gazing back at me from the mirror. I'm acutely aware that I'm not alone in this struggle; countless women wage a similar battle with their bodies. We live in a society that places immense value on slender frames and unblemished appearances, making it nearly impossible to avoid internalizing these societal pressures.


I often catch myself sizing up my body against other women, admiring their flat stomachs, and convincing myself that I've somehow drawn the short straw when it comes to "body image." This preoccupation has now evolved into an all-encompassing fixation, dominating my thoughts day in and day out.


It's a harsh truth to confront - the realization that this one physical aspect of my body has managed to infiltrate every facet of my existence. It influences not only how I perceive myself, but also how I believe my husband sees me, and even how my friends and family view me, all colored by this self-perceived flaw.


Your Body Is Extraordinary


It's crucial to acknowledge that grappling with body image is an experience shared by many women. We must never forget that our bodies are nothing short of extraordinary. We should celebrate them for their capabilities. Embracing yourself, and your body in its current form, is essential. Your body is what sets you apart, something you should regard as your unique strength.


Our bodies grant us the incredible ability to explore the world, relish moments of joy, and connect with others. They deserve to be celebrated rather than subjected to unrelenting criticism.


For me, it was a gradual journey, but over time, I began to perceive myself through a different camera lens. The relentless fixation on my stomach bulge started to fade, replaced by a focus on the things that brought me genuine joy. I came to the realization that my happiness wasn't contingent on my appearance, but rather on the love and acceptance I felt for myself.


I mended my relationship with my bulge and now wear it with pride. It's a part of who I am, and I no longer carry any shame about it. True beauty emanates from within. Although there are still moments when insecurity tries to creep in, I choose to accentuate the positive aspects of my life instead. This shift in mindset has truly revolutionized my outlook, granting me the ability to lead my life with a newfound confidence and a profound appreciation for the distinctive qualities that define me.


Embrace Every About You


Here are a few tips that have helped me to stop caring about my body and embrace what was given to me:


1. Focus on what your body can do, not how it looks.

Our bodies are capable of amazing things. They can run, jump, dance, and make love. Instead of focusing on how your body looks, focus on what it can do. Appreciate your body for all the things it allows you to experience in life.


2. Challenge negative self-talk.

We all have that inner critic that tells us we're not good enough. Challenge that voice. When you find yourself thinking negative thoughts about your body, challenge them. Ask yourself if they're true. Most likely, they're not. Replace those negative thoughts with positive ones.


3. Surround yourself with body-positive messages.


We live in a world that bombards us with messages that tell us our bodies are not good enough. Surround yourself with body-positive messages instead. Follow social media accounts that promote body positivity, read books that celebrate all body types, and connect with friends who value self-love.


4. Practice self-care.


Taking care of ourselves is essential for our physical and mental well-being. Practice self-care in a way that feels good to you. This could be taking a relaxing bath, going for a nature walk, or getting a massage. Whatever it is, prioritize taking care of yourself.


5. Be kind to yourself.


Finally, be kind to yourself. Treat yourself with the same kindness and compassion you would give to a friend. Remember that your worth is not determined by your body. You are worthy just as you are.


5 views0 comments
bottom of page